clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Vox Media Partners with Texas Tribune to Bring Its Expert Voices to 2019 Texas Tribune Festival

Join us in Austin Sept. 26-28 for live recordings of The Weeds, Recode Media and Function with Anil Dash + conversations with fan-favorite Vox voices Matt Yglesias, Jane Coaston, and ProPublica’s Dara Lind

We’re thrilled to announce we’re partnering with Texas Tribune for the ninth-annual Texas Tribune Festival in Austin, Texas from Sept. 26-28. Each year, thousands of people from Texas and beyond gather at the Texas Tribune Festival to explore the state’s — and the nation’s — biggest challenges. The 2019 Texas Tribune Festival will continue to convene many of the nation’s most influential public figures – with opportunities to hear from more than 420 leading figures in politics and public policy – in one of the largest, most buzzworthy political gatherings in the U.S.

This exciting partnership means attendees can join many of their favorite Vox Media voices – including Matt Yglesias, Jane Coaston, ProPublica’s Dara Lind, Recode’s Peter Kafka, and Anil Dash from Glitch – for live podcasts and deep-dive panel discussions in downtown Austin on the historic Congress Avenue under the shadow of the Capitol.

“Vox Media has always admired The Texas Tribune for setting a new standard in local non-profit journalism, especially since they share our digital-first roots. Their successful events are no exception”, said Trei Brundrett, COO of Vox Media, “For several years in a row we’ve enjoyed traveling to the beautiful capitol of the Lone Star State to participate in the Texas Tribune Festival, but our partnership this year is set to be the best yet. We’re proud to have a record number of our excellent journalists on panels covering critical issues and we’re excited for the TribFest audience to experience a variety of our influential podcasts in person.”

Live tapings of Vox’s The Weeds and Recode Media with Peter Kafka will be made available for free following the festival. You can subscribe to both shows today to automatically receive these episodes when they’re published.

You can see the event’s full lineup and register at festival.texastribune.org, or follow the Tribune on Facebook at facebook.com/texastribune or on Twitter at @TexasTribune and hashtag #TribFest19.

Where to see Vox Media at Texas Tribune Festival 2019

Thursday, September 26th

RECODE MEDIA WITH PETER KAFKA FEATURING BUZZFEED’S BEN SMITH

When: Thursday, September 26th; 12:30-1:30pm CST / 1:30-2:30PM EST

Where: Texas Public Policy Foundation, Hogsett Auditorium (901 Congress Ave.)

What: Recode’s Peter Kafka talks to Ben Smith, editor-in-chief of BuzzFeed, about the digital news organization’s history, mission, reach and future.

*This event is free to attend and open to the public. No RSVP is required.

VOX’S THE WEEDS

When: Thursday, September 26th; 2-3pm CST / 3-4PM EST

Where: Texas Public Policy Foundation, Hogsett Auditorium (901 Congress Ave.)

What: Jane Coaston, Dara Lind and Matt Yglesias dig deep into politics, policy and national issues.

*This event is free to attend and open to the public. No RSVP is required.

Friday, September 27th

CIVIC ENRAGEMENT (PANEL)

When: Friday, September 27th; 10am-11am CST / 11am-12pm EST

Where: The Driskill Hotel, Maximilian Room (604 Brazos St.)

What: Matt Yglesias moderates a discussion on how progressive politics are turning citizens into warriors and cities into battlegrounds.

Who:

FUNCTION WITH ANIL DASH

When: Friday, September 27th; 12-1pm CST / 1-2pm EST

Where: Studio 919 at The Texas Tribune (919 Congress Ave.)

What: On this episode of Anil Dash’s podcast about how technology is shaping our culture and communications: Remember when we were going to have a healthy Internet culture?

Who:

Saturday, September 28th

ONE-ON-ONE WITH JEFF MERKLEY

When: Saturday, September 28th; 10:45-11:45am CST / 11:45am-12:45pm EST

Where: St. David’s Episcopal Church, Bethell Hall (301 E. 8th St.)

What: The Weeds’ Dara Lind in conversation Jeff Merkley, Democratic Senator from Oregon, on the migrant crisis, chaos in Congress and the battle for the soul of the Democratic Party.

TRUMP’S PARTY (PANEL)

When: Saturday, September 28th; 10:45-11:45am CST 11:45am-12:45pm EST

Where: Central Presbyterian Church

What: Vox’s Jane Coaston leads a discussion on How the GOP became one with POTUS.

Who: